10 comments on “from russia with love

  1. elmediat says:

    Excellent ! Recalls a more innocent/hopeful/confused time. Now we are just as confused, sigh. Putin’s finger is pointing in a different direction, but Russia’s old masters would approve.

  2. Gorgeous piece! The woman’s dress, though a bit too “active” for Malevich’s paintings reminded me of them which is perfect. One of my favorites of yours so far. Good work (and I really love the fluidity of the arm. makes a good contrast with what I imagine as hard edged regime officer. I’m rambling on and on but yeah)

    • Hello, Fig says:

      analog, thank you 🙂 kind of wanted this one to undercut / satirise Russia’s current ‘gay is bad / macho is good’ stance, by feminising their most ‘macho’ dictator. ‘Stalin loves 80s knitwear’ was a working title hehe!

      and thanks, not heard of Malevich before – AMAZING stuff!!

  3. prior says:

    very cool – the feminine feel to the hand catches me the most –

    • Hello, Fig says:

      thanks prior! the arm / hand is from a painting of marie antoinette, pointing west, towards france from russia.. not sure what relevance this has! hehe 🙂

  4. Llike here what is left to the imagination. By early next week, I will be posting the “pie o logy” blog. You must read it. You are not mentioned by name, but you are mentioned. Ha!

  5. Hello, Fig says:

    haha looking forward to that Hollis! weirdly, one of my friend’s nicknames for me is ‘Pie’. my nickname for him is also ‘Pie’… 😉

Leave a comment