Fresh Figs #12 ~ Wilma Millette

Millette - Twilight Dreams

HOWDY! how-do?

new images / art / figs this week come from Wilma Millette (aka frenchapple) (aka creartfuldodger)

i feel there’s a kind of sweet darkness to a lot of Wilma’s work, if that makes sense

it seems sophisticated and playful but also kind of like a kid who spends the afternoon playing hopscotch then runs inside to watch the shining

or ummm, maybe that’s just me?

aanyways, here’s what Wilma herself has to say ~ ~ ~

I am a collage, mixed media artist from Vancouver Island in Canada. I have been playing with this medium for about 7 years. I strive to create a narrative in my pieces, hoping to give some relevance to the materials I use. I love the ordinary, often discarded and well-worn objects and paper ephemera from the past. They have a certain beauty that is often lacking in the modern world of mass production. I like to think that the people who made them all those years ago would be pleased.

Millette - this end up

here’s the rest of Wilma’s portfolio πŸ˜€

happy wednesday the 23rd june two thousand fifteen you all X

14 comments on “Fresh Figs #12 ~ Wilma Millette

  1. Wilma’s brilliant! And these are two great examples of her work.

    • Hello, Fig says:

      yep i agree Richard, big time πŸ‘

      how’s the new blog with Ashley going? hope ur good πŸ˜€

      • Great, thanks, Ben – yes, the blog with Ashley is a lot of fun – some very interesting stuff comes out of it. Hope you’re good too πŸ™‚

  2. ggmissm says:

    I agree! Would love to know the dimensions of the two pieces shown here. So glad you stopped by my Art and Tulips box. And that I found the Fig.
    Molly

  3. Thank you Ben for sharing my work. I laughed out loud at the part about playing hopskotch and then running inside to watch the shining. I spend my days hanging out with 24 seven yearolds and the art is what happens at night or on holidays…so you are spot on! LOL

  4. Reblogged this on creartfuldodger and commented:
    Thanks Ben for sharing my work.

  5. sheldonk2014 says:

    These are beautiful
    As always Sheldon

  6. elmediat says:

    Excellent composition. πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you for introducing me to this artist’s work. I love the slightly weird and dark side to the cuteness, something that collage and mixed media are really good at by placing things together that normally wouldn’t be in the same frame.

Leave a Reply

