‘Edibles’

here are a few small poems from my new chapbook / pamphlet Edibles ~ ~ ~

edibles 11

this book represents 5 years’ worth of work, condensed into 33 pages

feels like it may be the ‘best’ thing i’ve done so far, in terms of writing idk πŸ˜‰

edibles 13

if you like, you can buy Edibles directly from Eyewear Publishing, it is Β£5 / $8.54

(or if you’d like a signed copy for the same price, please email me here ~ stainton9@gmail.com)

promoting myself seems hard! thank you for reading

— Ben πŸ˜€

edibles 06

24 comments on “‘Edibles’

  1. redgladiola says:

    Nice selection! Congrats on your book. =)

  2. Hey, what a nice surprise!

  3. Congratulations. I’m so happy for you:)

  4. Lori M-I says:

    Self promotion is a bit of a tricky/awkward thing isn’t it? Your subscribers love your work so rest assured you have a welcoming environment to share here. The samples are lovely (or as the first site review noted “humorous… and observant”). Best of luck with your latest publication. =)

    • Hello, Fig says:

      thank you lori x guess i wish i had a ‘marketing team’ behind me who could say ‘ben is good’ rather than awkwardly try to do that myself! maybe i should just say “DANG! THESE POEMS KICK ASS BITCHES!!!” or uh.. something along those lines πŸ˜‰ but i’m british! and shy as heck! oh well. fancy becoming part of my ‘marketing team’? πŸ˜‰

      • Lori M-I says:

        Lol…I’m Canadian and shy about my work so that may help me feel a bit of kinship for you in the area of self promotion. πŸ˜‰ Alas I find self promotion marketing awkward as well. For example I rarely ever link my posts from my regular blog to my own Facebook account (captive audience etc)and I don’t think I’ve ever done so for my art blog even once! Oh well….cream will rise to the top…errr…hopefully. And your poems do KICK ASS Ben =) Maybe you should do a Utube poetry slam thingy!!

  5. Congratulations Ben! Your poems are to be as successful as your collages!

    • Hello, Fig says:

      idk hollis, poems are a tough sell, even when they’re ‘bad-ass’, which mine aren’t haha. but thank you! i’m hoping x

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Congratulations! Any illustrations in the chapbook?

    • Hello, Fig says:

      no, sadly no images 😦 this will probably be the last ‘proper’ poetry thing i do, as in, the last book with just words on paper. i’d like the next thing i put out to be a giant, unbelievable thing that makes ‘poems’ seem obsolete haha πŸ˜‰ oh and THANKS!!!

  7. Gallivanta says:

    When I say illustrations, I am thinking about illustrations like these https://bpstainton.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/short-flying-cat-poem/

  8. Paul Hawkins says:

    Reblogged this on Paul Hawkins // poet and commented:
    Edibles is a new pamphlet by Ben Stainton/Hello, Fig

  9. camparigirl says:

    Go ahead. Be shameless, promote what you believe in (says the one who couldn’t sell ice in the Sahara). Love these snippets. I might use them for mone my 5 Things we love post in the near future if you are ok with it. Will obviously link to your blog for anyone wishing to get the book.

  10. […] it’s too hard to sift among the good, the bad and the (mostly) truly awful. I came across Ben StantonΒ because I regularly check his blog of mainly visual art. Didn’t know he wrote poetry. This […]

  11. […] artist does do some poem things. And has a book out (and if the poem samples are anything to go by, the book […]

Leave a Reply

