the new media

the new media - Copy

33 comments on “the new media

  1. Very cool. Keep up the good work!

  2. Jeanette says:

    Thanks for liking my blog post. I like your work and will be following your posts. I think you might enjoy some of the recent photography based prints I have worked on. https://jeanette-gunnarsson.squarespace.com/

    Let me know what you think.

    X J

    • Hello, Fig says:

      mmm yep that’s good strong work jeanette, imo – disturbing / engrossing / well-executed.. NICE! thanks for following! x

  3. pinkybinks says:

    Cool. Looks like Morten from A-HA!?

  4. I FRIGGEN LOVE THIS!!!

  5. Wowsa–loving the glow. He certainly looks superhuman, maybe a bit like Cyclops from X-men. Kinda seems like he is about to set something on fire… the media?

    • Hello, Fig says:

      hey, hopeful! well, i wanted it to seem like a kind of future ‘symbiosis’ between human and information (media), almost like the ‘internet’, i guess, will one day consume human beings… EEEK! i’m now picturing a dystopian sci-fi film in which questions like ‘who holds the power – us or computers?’ abound… 😉 yep definitely a bit of Cyclops in there! .. isn’t Cyclops’ visor actually part of him.?

      the image is heavily saturated, hence the glow.. i was trying to say something about contemporary media saturation, i suppose 😉 glad you enjoyed and hope yr well! 😀

      • Ooh, I very much like that concept of man and machine… but the consuming part doesn’t seem too symbiotic! Life does seem intermeshed with technology, especially in the hospital where physicians employ useful imaging but may depend too heavily on their computers.

        I fear that future docs might just read through the checklist on the screen clicking off boxes instead of listening and conversing with the patient over what is going on! But then the whole idea that crashes might lose electronic medical records is also scary!!!

        I guess that we too have our own computer visor of sorts that has become a part of us whether we realize it or not. Someone once threw out this phrase “technological stewardship” whereby, this Christian prof, hoped his use of such aligned with helping and not hurting/dependence/twisting of such.

        Your work is great food for thought. Keep it comin’

      • Hello, Fig says:

        thanks very much! yeah i agree, reliance on technology is unavoidable and will only increase in the years to come i suspect.. difficult to accurately predict the negative / positive implications of this of course.. i guess all we can do is monitor ourselves and ensure we keep a grip on what’s helpful / detrimental on a personal level, maybs 😉 good to hear from you! hope yr weekend is ‘rad’ x

  6. Yes I do think Andy would like this! Thanks for liking my piece too. Maybe we both channel Andy….(taking a risk here, I know)

    • Hello, Fig says:

      i like warhol for sure, but honestly not sure he’s an ‘influcence’ as such.. he actually appears in this one! to the far left wearing a pair of dark shades

  7. gpcox says:

    Is the symbolism here that the media is as blind as justice?

    • Hello, Fig says:

      hey gp, please see the reply to ‘a hopeful doc’ for my intentions on this one, if you like.. hope you’re well! 🙂

      • gpcox says:

        Having trouble finding it – guess I’m not as well as I thought. I was just joking anyhow, my dry sense of humor often gets misunderstood.:)

  8. annetbell says:

    Thanks for the like. I hope you will visit again soon and often.Namaste. . . .

  9. irynaska says:

    Hey, you recently liked one of my short art analysis posts, and I’m visiting your blog. I really love this art work, and I was wondering if I could do a similar analysis of your piece? I’ll link it back to your blog of course, and you will get the credit for the artwork, I simply would like to feature it on my blog. Would that be okay? 🙂

    • Hello, Fig says:

      hey irynaska, yes that would be wonderful, thanks for thinking of me 😀 i’m having trouble viewing yr blog’s homepage atm tho.. the format seems too wide for my lap-top screen or something.. anyway! yes please link me up when the piece is ‘live’. cheers! ben 🙂

      • irynaska says:

        Thank you, I’ll post it next Saturday. 🙂 Oh, that’s not good. :S I don’t have a laptop, but it’s worked fine on my mobile and tablet. I’ll have to check that out, thanks for letting me know. 🙂 Yeah, I’ll be sure to link you. It will only be a short peice, like the rest – but I just wanted to check that it’s okay.
        – Iryna.

      • Iryna says:

        Just wanted to let you know that my post about your work is up as of now. 🙂

      • Hello, Fig says:

        hey iryna, thank you for the nice write-up, i appreciate that a lot. i like yr perspective on what the image is ‘trying to say’. i’m following you and looking forward to yr next piece. thanks again!! :Dx

      • Iryna says:

        You’re very welcome, I’m glad you liked it. 🙂 Thank you for the follow! I generally release new stuff every Saturday (Australian time), but I’m working on trying to get that up to two per week. 🙂 x

      • Iryna says:

        You’re very welcome. I’m glad you liked it! 🙂 My next post will probably be on Saturday, although I am working on trying to do two a week. 😀 x

  10. […] “The New Media” by Ben Stainton. 2013. […]

  11. Iryna says:

    Oh, sorry. I didn’t realise my comment posted the first time. >.<

  12. evad008 says:

    all your pictures are great.
    what a wonderful discovery.
    have fun and work well*°*°

Leave a Reply

