the home guard

the-home-guard-copy

50 comments on “the home guard

  1. whatacarveup says:

    I like it too! How do you feel about Reblogs?

  2. I love this! Your work is amazing! Very daring!

    • Hello, Fig says:

      thank you, hollis x just been looking through some of yr work – intricate / complex / accessible / pop – just my kind of thing!

      • Thank you. I get the same from you. The humor, the pop imagery. Some people don’t get my stuff. Always amazes me. One person recently said “there’s a lot of humor here!” I thought, “Yeah?” But I do it anyway even if people don’t get it. It just comes through, as I am sure yours does.:)

  3. Very interesting…….This is my promotion weekend for all of my eBooks please check them out and thank you for your support. http://www.amazon.com/Ann-Johnson-Murphree/e/B00CGBLQZO/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1375763518&sr=8-2

  4. arjun bagga says:

    a perfect portrayal of consumerism

  5. hollywoodsam says:

    Touche amigo! the home front is goooood!

  6. Could I share this on my new, entirely irrational, tumblr account, please?

  7. steffiegraph says:

    I really like your work! Thanks for liking my posts and following, I really appreciate it! Looking forward to your next work!

  8. whatacarveup says:

    Reblogged this on whatacarveup.

  9. pinkybinks says:

    Love it. I have been showing my art students your work this week, and the work of Linder. Beautiful collage tastic. They are inspired.

  10. createsumzing says:

    Haha, I like this. One of mah favorites of yours. DOPE.

    Just had a thought that it’d be cool for you to sell that on RedBubble. Especially as a iPhone/iPod Case (http://www.redbubble.com/shop/iphone-cases?ref=home_leftnav), because that would look pretty nice.

    • Hello, Fig says:

      hmm yeah good plan

      i’m a bit technologically SLOW tho.. how wld i go about selling it?

      and i Like your posts with a capital L btw 😉

      • createsumzing says:

        Since they produce the product(s) for you/the customer, It’s a matter of re-sizing the image depending on the type of medium you’d like it to be on, before you upload it to RedBubble. Dimensions have to be exact, which you can adjust using Photoshop or a simpler program. (I noticed your image is freaking HUGE)

        iPhone & iPod Cases must have 1187×1852 dimensions. Clothes go for 2400×3200, and so on.

        RedBubble gives image templates, which is pretty useful. I played around with them by having my image transparent (50% opacity) so I can see which section is on focus.

        There’s more info on the website and is easier to see how it works for those who are signed up. I didn’t put anything up for sale yet, but I’d like to eventually, once I find something solid.

      • Hello, Fig says:

        yepyep definitely sounds like a plan! good luck with yours! 😀

      • createsumzing says:

        Thanks, likewise.

      • createsumzing says:

        And thanks, BTW. 😉

  11. wordsbyannierose says:

    Hi! I just wanted to say thank you for taking a look at my blog. I really appreciate it. Your work is incredibly, keep it up! Do you have an online store? Best, annierose

  12. This one is quite captivating… I can’t figure out if you’re referring to the women left behind in wars of the past? Like seeing them as the troops on the home front? Is my sciency mind analyzing art? Is that bad??

    • Hello, Fig says:

      hey hopeful, well, i wanted to leave this one kind of ambiguous / open to interpretation

      yr reading of it is definitely something i considered / planned when making the image

      i liked the idea of a ‘retort’, of sorts, to anyone who still thinks ‘people of colour’ can’t rightfully call England home

      another reading could be more negative / satirical – that most wars are fought to protect our commercial interests at home and abroad

      someone else said they thought it ‘perfectly summed up capitalism’ which i thought was interesting

      mainly though i wanted it to induce a sense of positive nostalgia

      but basically, all interpretations are good interpretations! good to hear from you, and best of luck for med school 🙂

      • Hm. I often forget that whole self-protective bit for going into war… and I didn’t think of racism within your context/country yet I know the US still has a ways to go on that front… And I’ll take all the luck I can get with school!

  13. agiurgea says:

    It has a bit of a Warhol feel to it, like it, I`ve done a similar series, maybe I`ll post some time haha, do you hold rights for the photos you use? I didn`t post mine because I was using random internet images, and I was afraid I`d have copyright problems…

    • Hello, Fig says:

      hey agiurgea, glad you enjoyed! i’d be interested to see yr pieces. the rules / laws around collage-art are pretty sketchy as far as i know.. taking someone else’s image / photo and trying to pass it off 100% as yr own work is obviously not allowed.. but taking sections and changing the context / making the work entirely new is far less risky.. this is appropriated or derivative work. you may already know all this, of course! a lot of my materials are old / obscure / used in vintage advertising, but personally i don’t stand to profit from any of the images i produce, so i don’t feel TOO bad about not owning the rights.. hope that helps! ben 🙂

    • I don’t know too much about copyright law. I appreciate the information above. I, too, have always thought that, the fact that the piece from a magazine or wherever is altered, you are safe. I haven’t done any collages with internet images though. I tend to think that is different, but who knows? I should copyright my collages and don’t as of yet…….I ignore I am posting to such an incredibly wide audience. 🙂

      • agiurgea says:

        thanks for the comments guys, thank you fig for taking your time to explain to me, haven`t had time to breathe these past days, working on my projects 🙂

  14. Reblogged this on Vector Charley and commented:
    I love it!

  15. Bipasha says:

    so cool!
    i admire your work on this blog, thanks for sharing!

  16. love it! awesome collages

  17. Leon Christopher Scott says:

    Captivating…. I love the historical significance it has towards the things that drove the woman independence movement

    • Hello, Fig says:

      hey, thank you, leon! yeah i noticed a lot of my recent collages are very female-centric.. think i might be a kind of feminist tbh 😉

  18. saramcevoy1 says:

    so happy i stumbled onto your blog. can i use this image in a post on my blog? with credit of course. either way i’m posting a link to your site. so amazing! i’m curious to hear about your artistic background. any chance for creating a little “About Me” section? 🙂 or maybe i’m just being nosy. thank you for sharing your art!

    • Hello, Fig says:

      share away sara mcevoy 😉 yes i keep meaning to do an ‘about’ thing but idk i wantt to seem m y s t e r i o u s or something

      um, seriously tho it would probably go a bit like this >

      i was a ‘working’ guitar-player / singer / pianist / drummer for quite a while in the 00s

      i started writing and publising poetry when my son was born because it seemed like a quieter, more reasonable occupation

      i also worked in a variety of terrible office jobs

      my poems were published in books, pamphlets and magazines

      i’m now in the 5th year of an english degree

      and i started making collages in 2013 because it seemed like a natural progression, somehow

      in 2014 i hope to ‘step up’ [in terms of effort / positivity / writing prose and selling & publishing art] not ‘step-up’ in terms of this 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

